Ronald McDonald House Global
Ronald McDonald House Global reported $134.5 million in revenue and $137.9 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $86.77 went to program services, $7.17 to management and general costs and $6.06 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 92.8% of the total. Revenue rose 82% between 2020 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $138MFor context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $135MOther revenue was negative: −$1.1M. The bar shows the positive sources only.
The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 86.8% | 85.6% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 7.2% | 13.7% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 6.1% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.07 | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 92.8% | 1.3% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 93.7% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $975,831 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.34% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 27 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 26.8 | 6.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 23 of 23 | 88.9% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseSupport of Ronald Mcdonald House local chapters worldwide: Ronald Mcdonald House is a system of independent, separately registered public benefit organizations, referred to as "chapters" by Ronald Mcdonald House Global. Ronald Mcdonald House Global ensures delivery of the mission across the globe by building and sustaining a robust infrastructure of support for chapters. This includes operations, licensing and compliance, finance, risk management, communications, marketing and development. Following are the activities conducted by Ronald Mcdonald House Global to support the chapters: (1)…
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b23 · 23 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 6125
Largest outside contractors
2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| DDB Chicago Inc Brand Modernization Services | $7,574,093 |
| McDonald's Corporation Professional services | $6,105,046 |
| Integrigo LLC Donation Box Management and Collection | $3,026,701 |
| Accenture International Limited Strategic Growth Services | $1,605,000 |
| Capgemini America Inc Professional services (website & technology consulting) | $1,512,405 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 30 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
80 private foundations reported grants to Ronald McDonald House Global totaling $2.7M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Ronald McDonald House Global's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Ronald McDonald House Global, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Ronald McDonald House Global spent in 2025, $86.77 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- McGaw Medical Center of Northwestern UniversityChicago, IL · revenue $134M · programs 95.4% · FY2025
- Presbyterian Medical ServicesSanta Fe, NM · revenue $135M · programs 85.2% · 2025
- Medical CARE of Boston Management CorpCharlestown, MA · revenue $134M · programs 92.3% · FY2025
- Geneva General HospitalGeneva, NY · revenue $135M · programs 81.1% · 2024
- Foundation Medical PartnersNashua, NH · revenue $134M · programs 94.0% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Ronald McDonald House Global's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2025, Ronald McDonald House Global reported that 86.8% of its $137.9 million in expenses went to program services, 7.2% to management and general and 6.1% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Ronald McDonald House Global get its money?
Of $134.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 92.8% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Ronald McDonald House Global a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 36-2934689 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202641339349304544 · read the filing
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202511329349306696 · read the filing
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202421319349301982 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202331309349301248 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202231309349301878 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202131319349301658 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 36-2934689: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.