Charity Impact Media

Home › Health care

Sunset Home

Quincy, IL · EIN 37-0661224 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024 (tax year 2023) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Sunset Home reported $12.7 million in revenue and $14.4 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $87.76 went to program services, $11.54 to management and general costs and $0.70 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 91.2% of the total. Revenue fell 1% between FY2020 and FY2024. Source: Form 990, FY2024.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $14M

For context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

Other revenue was negative: −$1,961. The bar shows the positive sources only.

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2024 filing. Median across 5,634 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
87.8%85.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
11.5%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.7%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.09$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
8.8%1.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
91.2%93.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$975,831
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.34%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported27
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
5.66.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
15 of 1588.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$13M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $9.3M

Nursing home and senior living serving approximately 150 residents

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024$13M$14M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2024 ⓘ$13M$14M87.8%$6.8M—
FY2023 ⓘ$14M$14M86.6%$8.4M$110,647
FY2022 ⓘ$11M$13M90.0%$9.1M$111,702
FY2021 ⓘ$13M$12M90.8%$11M$112,930
FY2020 ⓘ$13M$12M92.6%$9.1M$110,115

Governance answers, as filed

FY2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b15 · 15 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5314

Private foundation grants it received

3 private foundations reported grants to Sunset Home totaling $33,447 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Sunset Home's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Sunset Home, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All health care charities · Largest charities in Illinois

Questions people ask

How much of Sunset Home's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, Sunset Home reported that 87.8% of its $14.4 million in expenses went to program services, 11.5% to management and general and 0.7% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Sunset Home get its money?

Of $12.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, 8.8% came from contributions and grants and 91.2% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Sunset Home a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 37-0661224 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202512269349302816 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, object 202421169349300037 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022, object 202310389349301126 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, object 202230899349300903 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2020, object 202110919349301596 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 37-0661224: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.