Olivet College
Also known as The University of Olivet
Olivet College reported $45.3 million in revenue and $49.3 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $86.46 went to program services, $12.14 to management and general costs and $1.40 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 83.0% of the total. Revenue rose 20% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $49MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $45MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 86.5% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 12.1% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 1.4% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.19 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 7.8% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 83.0% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 8.8 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 31 of 31 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseFinancial aid in various forms to assist individuals in financing their undergrauate education. 944 students benefitted
Non-educational events for students - co-curricular programs offered to students. This includes athletics and student life events to enhance the educational experience
Instruction and related support - providing a liberal arts undergraduate education. 851 undergraduate students enrolled in fiscal year 2024-25
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b31 · 31 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5588
- Volunteers Part I, line 631
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| CHARTWELLS DINING SERVICES Food service | $0 |
| TL CONTRACTING Construction | $0 |
| Presidio Networked Solutions Group LLC It technology | $0 |
| GORDON CONSTRUCTIONS SERVICES Construction | $0 |
| DK's Complete Home Improvement LLC Contractor | $0 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out.
Private foundation grants it received
12 private foundations reported grants to Olivet College totaling $28,299 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Olivet College's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Olivet College, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Olivet College spent in FY2025, $86.46 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Scholar FundSeattle, WA · revenue $45M · programs 94.1% · 2023
- University of Health Sciences and Pharmacy in St LouisSaint Louis, MO · revenue $45M · programs 86.5% · FY2025
- Christendom Educational CorporationFront Royal, VA · revenue $45M · programs 83.7% · FY2025
- The High Desert Partnership in Academic Excellence FoundationApple Valley, CA · revenue $45M · programs 58.8% · FY2025
- The Fessenden SchoolWest Newton, MA · revenue $45M · programs 80.0% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Olivet College's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Olivet College reported that 86.5% of its $49.3 million in expenses went to program services, 12.1% to management and general and 1.4% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Olivet College get its money?
Of $45.3 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 7.8% came from contributions and grants and 83.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Olivet College a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 38-1459365 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202601359349303995 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202500659349301605 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202400899349301105 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202340409349301104 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202230429349301213 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202121189349300427 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 38-1459365: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.