Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking
Gordon Christian Trust
Gordon Christian Trust reported $56.1 million in revenue and $30.8 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $99.27 went to program services, $0.73 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 89.2% of the total. Revenue fell 23% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $31MFor context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $56MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 99.3% | 90.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.7% | 6.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 1.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 89.2% | 79.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $325,675 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.56% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 49.8 | 56.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 4 of 4 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense7 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 64
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Gordon Christian Trust's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Gordon Christian Trust, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Gordon Christian Trust spent in 2025, $99.27 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- The Community Foundation for Greater New HavenNew Haven, CT · revenue $56M · programs 75.8% · 2024
- Prostate Cancer FoundationSanta Monica, CA · revenue $57M · programs 86.0% · 2024
- Sir Mortimer B Davis Jewish General HospitalCanada, · revenue $55M · programs 81.9% · FY2025
- Jewish Federation Council of Greater LALos Angeles, CA · revenue $57M · programs 74.3% · 2024
- Masonic Charity Foundation of New JerseyBurlington, NJ · revenue $55M · programs 80.3% · 2024
All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Michigan
Questions people ask
How much of Gordon Christian Trust's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2025, Gordon Christian Trust reported that 99.3% of its $30.8 million in expenses went to program services, 0.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Gordon Christian Trust get its money?
Of $56.1 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 89.2% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Gordon Christian Trust a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 38-2596725 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202611349349301536 · read the filing · XML
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202521349349310677 · read the filing
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202441319349304614 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202301359349315155 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202231329349303588 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202121379349301102 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202021899349302367 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 38-2596725: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.