Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

Ann Arbor Housing Development Corp

Ann Arbor, MI · EIN 38-3202520 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization, Type I
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Ann Arbor Housing Development Corp reported $15.5 million in revenue and $12.0 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 76.7% of the total. Government grants made up 69.7%. Revenue rose 3022% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12M

For context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $16M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 933 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
76.7%17.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
69.7%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%66.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$300,863
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.57%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported5
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
13.810.0
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$12M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

Relieved a shortage of decent, safe and sanitary housing for persons of low income including families and elderly, homeless or disabled persons in the city of Ann Arbor, mi and other michigan communities

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$16M$12M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$16M$12M100.0%$14M—
FY2024 ⓘ$17M$12M100.0%$10M—
FY2023 ⓘ$9.8M$6.1M100.0%$5.6M—
FY2022 ⓘ$5.0M$4.9M100.0%$1.9M—
FY2021 ⓘ$538K$293K100.0%$1.9M—
FY2020 ⓘ$497K$560K100.0%$1.6M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Ann Arbor Housing Development Corp's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Ann Arbor Housing Development Corp, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All housing & shelter charities · Largest charities in Michigan

Questions people ask

How much of Ann Arbor Housing Development Corp's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Ann Arbor Housing Development Corp reported that 100.0% of its $12.0 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Ann Arbor Housing Development Corp get its money?

Of $15.5 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 76.7% came from contributions and grants (including 69.7% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Ann Arbor Housing Development Corp a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 38-3202520 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization, type i), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202631359349302558 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202521049349301112 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202303209349302380 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202340419349301619 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202143149349300214 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202120229349300322 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 38-3202520: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.