Home › Community improvement & capacity building
Uptown Reinvestment Corporation
Uptown Reinvestment Corporation reported negative $1.3 million in revenue and $3.2 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $98.82 went to program services, $1.18 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $262,135 (CFO). Revenue fell 114% between 2020 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $3.2MFor context, the median across 479 covered community improvement & capacity building charities: $90.45 programs, $9.31 management, $0.24 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 98.8% | 89.1% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 1.2% | 9.2% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.2% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | Not reported | 80.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | Not reported | 14.9% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | Not reported | 11.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | $262,135 | $291,103 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | 8.22% | 1.49% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 5 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 289.8 | 9.2 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 10 of 10 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseThe promotion of economic growth, employment, and development in the downtown flint business district by: * offering financial and technical assistance through procurement of private investment capital and federal and state grants * acquiring and revitalizing under utilized commercial real estate
Highest reported compensation
2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here0 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation from Uptown Reinvestment Corporation (Part VII, line 2).
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b10 · 10 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 610
Largest outside contractors
2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| FLINT & GENESEE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE Contract employees and support services | $945,654 |
| PREMIER SECURITY SOLUTIONS Downtown security | $206,687 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 2 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Uptown Reinvestment Corporation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Uptown Reinvestment Corporation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Uptown Reinvestment Corporation spent in 2025, $98.82 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Hwd on SecondFlint, MI · revenue $755K · programs 95.3% · 2025
- Wolf Run VillageWatford City, ND · revenue $1.9M · programs 96.3% · 2025
- First Flight Venture CenterDurham, NC · revenue $1.9M · programs 12.4% · 2025
- Indianapolis Cultural TrailIndianapolis, IN · revenue $2.4M · programs 91.9% · 2025
- College Park City- University PartnershipCollege Park, MD · revenue $3.6M · programs 51.9% · FY2025
All community improvement & capacity building charities · Largest charities in Michigan
Questions people ask
How much of Uptown Reinvestment Corporation's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2025, Uptown Reinvestment Corporation reported that 98.8% of its $3.2 million in expenses went to program services, 1.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
How much does Uptown Reinvestment Corporation pay its top executive?
The largest total compensation Uptown Reinvestment Corporation reported for one person in calendar year 2025 was $262,135, for the role of CFO (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).
Where does Uptown Reinvestment Corporation get its money?
Of negative $1.3 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, -59.0% came from contributions and grants (including -20.0% from government grants) and -17.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Uptown Reinvestment Corporation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 38-3493359 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202602619349301230 · read the filing
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202502729349302060 · read the filing
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423139349302482 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313199349309291 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202243199349304294 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202103149349306095 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 38-3493359: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.