California Virtual Academy at Fresno
California Virtual Academy at Fresno reported $25.2 million in revenue and $24.7 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $81.84 went to program services, $18.16 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.7% of the total. Government grants made up 99.7%. Revenue rose 213% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $25MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $25MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 81.8% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 18.2% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 99.7% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 99.7% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 0.8 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 4 of 4 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseCava (California Virtual Academy) programs blend innovative new instructional technology with a traditional curriculum for students all across california. Cava uses the k12 curriculum to offer california students in grades k-12 an exceptional learning experience. With individualized learning approaches, cava and k12 provide the tools kids need to succeed in school and beyond
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 589
- Volunteers Part I, line 64
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| K12 CALIFORNIA LLC Curriculum, materials,& support services | $10,416,336 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from California Virtual Academy at Fresno's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for California Virtual Academy at Fresno, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 California Virtual Academy at Fresno spent in FY2025, $81.84 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Davidson Institute for Talent DevelopmentIncline Village, NV · revenue $25M · programs 79.4% · FY2025
- Blue LearningLewisville, TX · revenue $25M · programs 85.2% · FY2025
- CodeorgSeattle, WA · revenue $25M · programs 85.2% · FY2025
- Steppingstone Day SchoolKew Garden Hills, NY · revenue $25M · programs 91.7% · FY2025
- Union AcademyMonroe, NC · revenue $25M · programs 73.6% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of California Virtual Academy at Fresno's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, California Virtual Academy at Fresno reported that 81.8% of its $24.7 million in expenses went to program services, 18.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does California Virtual Academy at Fresno get its money?
Of $25.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 99.7% came from contributions and grants (including 99.7% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is California Virtual Academy at Fresno a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 38-3880211 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202631339349309633 · read the filing
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202521079349300832 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202401279349300825 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202311229349301146 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202221089349300422 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202101109349301630 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 38-3880211: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.