Charity Impact Media

Home › Arts, culture & humanities

Kohler Trust for the Arts and Education

Kohler, WI · EIN 39-1274547 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization (509(a)(3))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2026 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Kohler Trust for the Arts and Education reported $9.7 million in revenue and $9.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2026. Of every $100 it spent, $99.50 went to program services, $0.50 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 120% between FY2020 and FY2026. Source: Form 990, FY2026.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending January 31, 2026 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $9.5M

For context, the median across 876 covered arts, culture & humanities charities: $79.98 programs, $13.89 management, $6.13 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending January 31, 2026 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $9.7M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2026 filing. Median across 876 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2026Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.5%78.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.5%13.6%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%6.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.10
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%57.5%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.7%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%20.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$385,706
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported2.03%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
16.136.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2026 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$5.3M expenses · 56.0% of program spending · grants $5.3M

Creation and preservation partners, inc. - distributed trust income in support of building and facilities operations and expenses, benefiting john michael Kohler Arts center, inc

$2.8M expenses · 29.0% of program spending · grants $2.8M

John michael Kohler Arts center, inc (art center) - distributed trust income in support of the arts center's programming, art preserve fund, and general operating funds

$800K expenses · 8.5% of program spending · grants $800K

Lawrence university - distributed trust income to the school's endowment supporting renovations

$620K all other programs (line 4d)

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2026 ⓘ$9.7M$9.5M99.5%$13M—
FY2025 ⓘ$10M$9.5M99.6%$12M—
FY2024 ⓘ$9.6M$7.5M98.8%$11M—
FY2023 ⓘ$5.4M$5.2M97.8%$9.0M—
FY2022 ⓘ$5.6M$5.3M98.0%$9.1M—
FY2021 ⓘ$4.3M$4.3M95.8%$8.9M—
FY2020 ⓘ$4.4M$4.3M96.2%$8.6M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2026 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 67

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Kohler Trust for the Arts and Education's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Kohler Trust for the Arts and Education, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Kohler Trust for the Arts and Education's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending January 31, 2026, Kohler Trust for the Arts and Education reported that 99.5% of its $9.5 million in expenses went to program services, 0.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Kohler Trust for the Arts and Education get its money?

Of $9.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending January 31, 2026, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Kohler Trust for the Arts and Education a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 39-1274547 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2026: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2026, object 202622479349300117 · read the filing
  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2025, object 202543449349300439 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2024, object 202403099349301615 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2023, object 202322829349301492 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2022, object 202212519349301416 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2021, object 202103369349301400 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2020, object 202023089349302422 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 39-1274547: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.