Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Milwaukee Area Technical College Foundation

Milwaukee, WI · EIN 39-1341603 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Milwaukee Area Technical College Foundation reported $14.8 million in revenue and $14.1 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $96.45 went to program services, $2.27 to management and general costs and $1.28 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 87.5% of the total. Government grants made up 7.8%. Revenue rose 40% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $14M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $15M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
96.4%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
2.3%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
1.3%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.01$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
87.5%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
7.8%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.4%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
38.713.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
19 of 19100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$14M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $13M · revenue $60,380

Milwaukee Area Technical College foundation, inc. Secures community involvement with, including financial support of, Milwaukee Area Technical College (matc). The specific purposes of the foundation are to solicit, hold, manage, invest, and expend contributions, grants, and bequests (including endowment gifts) exclusively for the maintenance, support, and benefit of matc.the foundation is the fiscal sponsor for milwaukee pbs (mpbs), a program of matc. Mpbs consists of two traditional television stations, wmvs and wmvt, which are licensed to matc; four digital television services; a…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$15M$14M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$15M$14M96.4%$45M—
FY2024 ⓘ$17M$14M96.2%$43M$239,372
FY2023 ⓘ$15M$13M94.3%$38M$227,487
FY2022 ⓘ$18M$9.5M96.3%$33M$211,776
FY2021 ⓘ$14M$8.7M96.4%$29M$183,585
FY2020 ⓘ$11M$10M97.9%$20M$400,015

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b19 · 19 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 620

Private foundation grants it received

8 private foundations reported grants to Milwaukee Area Technical College Foundation totaling $91,663 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Milwaukee Area Technical College Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Milwaukee Area Technical College Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Wisconsin

Questions people ask

How much of Milwaukee Area Technical College Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Milwaukee Area Technical College Foundation reported that 96.4% of its $14.1 million in expenses went to program services, 2.3% to management and general and 1.3% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Milwaukee Area Technical College Foundation get its money?

Of $14.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 87.5% came from contributions and grants (including 7.8% from government grants) and 0.4% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Milwaukee Area Technical College Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 39-1341603 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202641359349310129 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202520729349300002 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202441359349308424 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202320879349301207 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202211619349301211 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202120969349300242 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 39-1341603: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.