Charity Impact Media

Home › Recreation & sports

Charleston Educational Excellence Financing Corporation

Charleston, SC · EIN 42-1642871 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization (509(a)(3))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Charleston Educational Excellence Financing Corporation reported $57.3 million in revenue and $4.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 99.8% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $237,485 (CFO). Revenue rose 165% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $4.9M

For context, the median across 237 covered recreation & sports charities: $88.05 programs, $10.89 management, $1.06 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $57M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 237 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%10.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.05
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%25.2%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
99.8%61.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
$237,485$365,322
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
4.81%2.14%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported6
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.014.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
3 of 3100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$4.9M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $57M

During FY25, the corporation continued to assist the school district in servicing the debt on a number of district facilities

Highest reported compensation

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here
RoleFrom this orgFrom related orgsOtherTotal
CFO
Officer, 0.15 hrs/week
$0$186,359$51,126$237,485

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$57M$4.9M100.0%$0$237,485
FY2024 ⓘ$45M$13M100.0%$0$254,655
FY2023 ⓘ$37M$15M100.0%$0$228,200
FY2022 ⓘ$38M$16M100.0%$0$249,863
FY2021 ⓘ$47M$47M100.0%$0$239,986
FY2020 ⓘ$22M$22M100.0%$0$235,986

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 63

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Charleston Educational Excellence Financing Corporation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Charleston Educational Excellence Financing Corporation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Charleston Educational Excellence Financing Corporation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Charleston Educational Excellence Financing Corporation reported that 100.0% of its $4.9 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

How much does Charleston Educational Excellence Financing Corporation pay its top executive?

The largest total compensation Charleston Educational Excellence Financing Corporation reported for one person in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 was $237,485, for the role of CFO (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).

Where does Charleston Educational Excellence Financing Corporation get its money?

Of $57.3 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 99.8% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Charleston Educational Excellence Financing Corporation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 42-1642871 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202600869349300920 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202521689349301007 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202401369349313905 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202341359349315299 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202241269349300734 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141119349301114 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 42-1642871: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.