Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

21st Century Charter School of Gary co GEO Foundation

Indianapolis, IN · EIN 42-1659388 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

21st Century Charter School of Gary co GEO Foundation reported $18.3 million in revenue and $19.3 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $93.31 went to program services, $6.69 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 95.6% of the total. Government grants made up 95.6%. Revenue rose 24% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $19M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $18M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
93.3%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
6.7%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
95.6%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
95.6%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
4.1%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
2.613.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 5100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$18M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $650 · revenue $762K

Developing the highest potential of students through educating the whole person, ensuring that all students attain basic skills appropriate to their age and grade level. There are a total of 1,125 students

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$18M$19M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$18M$19M93.3%$4.2M—
FY2024 ⓘ$21M$21M94.6%$5.1M—
FY2023 ⓘ$21M$21M94.8%$4.9M—
FY2022 ⓘ$25M$23M95.7%$4.4M—
FY2021 ⓘ$15M$14M93.6%$1.8M—
FY2020 ⓘ$15M$13M93.8%$577K—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5263
  • Volunteers Part I, line 65

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
Greater Educational Opportunities Foundation
Management Fees
$1,002,446
Rising Stars Academy LLC
Tutoring Services
$572,140
Tatum Security LLC
Security Services
$182,725

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 3 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to 21st Century Charter School of Gary co GEO Foundation totaling $22 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from 21st Century Charter School of Gary co GEO Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for 21st Century Charter School of Gary co GEO Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Indiana

Questions people ask

How much of 21st Century Charter School of Gary co GEO Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 21st Century Charter School of Gary co GEO Foundation reported that 93.3% of its $19.3 million in expenses went to program services, 6.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does 21st Century Charter School of Gary co GEO Foundation get its money?

Of $18.3 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 95.6% came from contributions and grants (including 95.6% from government grants) and 4.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is 21st Century Charter School of Gary co GEO Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 42-1659388 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202621359349304582 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202501299349302185 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202411319349303651 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321349349300317 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202241369349315794 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202101349349306440 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 42-1659388: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.