Hawaii 3RS
Hawaii 3RS reported $13.4 million in revenue and $13.0 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.25 went to program services, $0.75 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 95.0% of the total. Government grants made up 94.3%. Revenue rose 2794% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $13MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 99.3% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.7% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 95.0% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 94.3% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 1.2 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 9 of 9 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense1. Hawaii 3rs awards grants to public schools for repair and maintenance projects that may include painting, landscaping, technical repairs and general cleanup, as approved by the state department of education (doe). Hawaii 3rs provides oversight, project management and organization of professional, licensed vendors and volunteers for the projects as needed. Funds are generated from private contributions, legislative appropriations and a check-off designation from the state tax form. Since its inception in 2001, hawaii 3rs has conducted more than 500 projects at schools across the state…
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b9 · 9 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 51
- Volunteers Part I, line 670
Private foundation grants it received
1 private foundation reported grants to Hawaii 3RS totaling $10,000 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Hawaii 3RS's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Hawaii 3RS, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Hawaii 3RS spent in 2024, $99.25 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Center for Spectrum ServicesKingston, NY · revenue $13M · programs 87.8% · FY2025
- Christian School at Castle HillsSan Antonio, TX · revenue $13M · programs 78.5% · FY2025
- Open Staffing FoundationSan Francisco, CA · revenue $13M · programs 99.7% · 2024
- Integrated Design Electronics Academy Public Charter SchoolWashington, DC · revenue $13M · programs 81.1% · FY2025
- Alliance for Progress Charter SchoolPhiladelphia, PA · revenue $13M · programs 75.1% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Hawaii 3RS's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Hawaii 3RS reported that 99.3% of its $13.0 million in expenses went to program services, 0.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Hawaii 3RS get its money?
Of $13.4 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 95.0% came from contributions and grants (including 94.3% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Hawaii 3RS a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 43-1990722 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543179349306144 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202403179349309500 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202332899349303678 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202222849349301452 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202123169349311697 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202043219349315519 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 43-1990722: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.