Charity Impact Media

Home › Human services

Kids First of Florida

Orange Park, FL · EIN 43-1992162 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Kids First of Florida reported $14.0 million in revenue and $13.4 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $94.67 went to program services, $5.33 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 97.7% of the total. Government grants made up 97.7%. Revenue rose 21% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $13M

For context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 3,614 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
94.7%87.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
5.3%11.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
97.7%20.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
97.7%2.4%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%70.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$274,992
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.18%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported6
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
3.56.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$13M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

There were 60 active licensed foster homes by the end of the fiscal year. There were 341 children in care, at the end of the fiscal year, with 97 of the children residing with their parents, 56 in relative care, 24 in nonrelative care, 164 in licensed care (153 in foster homes and 3 in group homes). There were 72 adoptions completed, during the fiscal year. There were 20 adults (age 18 to 23) in the independent living program and 11 adults in the extended foster care program. There were 79 children under courtesy supervision from other counties

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$14M$13M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$14M$13M94.7%$3.9M—
FY2024 ⓘ$14M$13M94.1%$3.4M$189,657
FY2023 ⓘ$13M$13M94.5%$2.6M$156,650
FY2022 ⓘ$11M$11M95.3%$2.2M$116,655
FY2021 ⓘ$11M$11M95.0%$2.0M$113,656
FY2020 ⓘ$12M$11M95.2%$1.6M$106,057

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 550

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Kids First of Florida totaling $64 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Kids First of Florida's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Kids First of Florida, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All human services charities · Largest charities in Florida

Questions people ask

How much of Kids First of Florida's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Kids First of Florida reported that 94.7% of its $13.4 million in expenses went to program services, 5.3% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Kids First of Florida get its money?

Of $14.0 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 97.7% came from contributions and grants (including 97.7% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Kids First of Florida a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 43-1992162 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202621349349310207 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202500319349301245 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421239349300037 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202310269349300346 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202210219349300676 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202003589349300910 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 43-1992162: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.