Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Standing Rock Community Grant School

Fort Yates, ND · EIN 45-0407044 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Standing Rock Community Grant School reported $13.9 million in revenue and $13.3 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $87.00 went to program services, $13.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 95.3% of the total. Government grants made up 93.8%. Revenue rose 4% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $13M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
87.0%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
13.0%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
95.3%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
93.8%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
2.2%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
2.813.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 5100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$12M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $12M

The school provides education to grades k-12 on the Standing Rock indian reservation. Approximately 750 students attended during the current school year

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$14M$13M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$14M$13M87.0%$3.1M—
FY2024 ⓘ$15M$14M88.0%$2.5M—
FY2023 ⓘ$15M$15M88.0%$1.7M$127,009
FY2022 ⓘ$16M$16M99.0%$1.7M—
FY2021 ⓘ$14M$14M90.4%$717K$15,400
FY2020 ⓘ$13M$13M89.3%$854K$4,825

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5172

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Standing Rock Community Grant School totaling $56 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Standing Rock Community Grant School's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Standing Rock Community Grant School, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in North Dakota

Questions people ask

How much of Standing Rock Community Grant School's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Standing Rock Community Grant School reported that 87.0% of its $13.3 million in expenses went to program services, 13.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Standing Rock Community Grant School get its money?

Of $13.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 95.3% came from contributions and grants (including 93.8% from government grants) and 2.2% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Standing Rock Community Grant School a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 45-0407044 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202601359349314265 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202531299349301923 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202441249349302609 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321359349319227 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202211369349312196 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202121379349311182 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 45-0407044: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.