Dsst Public Schools Foundation
Dsst Public Schools Foundation reported $4.4 million in revenue and $9.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $99.84 went to program services, $0.16 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 58.5% of the total. Revenue rose 14% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $9.9MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $4.4MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 99.8% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.2% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 41.5% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 25.4 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 8 of 8 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseThe Dsst Public Schools Foundation is organized for charitable purposes within the meaning of section 501(c)(3) of the internal revenue code of 1986 to assist denver school of science and technology, inc., a colorado nonprofit coporation, in its mission to transform urban public education by eliminating educational inequity and preparing all students for success in college and the 21st century
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 8 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 68
Private foundation grants it received
7 private foundations reported grants to Dsst Public Schools Foundation totaling $3.0M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Dsst Public Schools Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Dsst Public Schools Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Dsst Public Schools Foundation spent in FY2025, $99.84 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- The Slate SchoolNorth Haven, CT · revenue $4.4M · programs 96.2% · FY2025
- Results Educational FundWashington, DC · revenue $4.4M · programs 79.5% · FY2025
- Alabama High School of Mathematics and Science FoundationMobile, AL · revenue $4.3M · programs 70.2% · FY2025
- Medtech InnovatorLos Angeles, CA · revenue $4.5M · programs 87.0% · FY2025
- Ambleside SchoolLone Tree, CO · revenue $3.7M · programs 75.2% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Dsst Public Schools Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Dsst Public Schools Foundation reported that 99.8% of its $9.9 million in expenses went to program services, 0.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Dsst Public Schools Foundation get its money?
Of $4.4 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 41.5% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Dsst Public Schools Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 45-2796694 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202631289349301883 · read the filing
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202511229349302651 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421179349300807 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202341169349301349 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202241269349302219 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202100509349301215 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 45-2796694: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.