Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

Veterans United Foundation

Columbia, MO · EIN 45-3630533 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Veterans United Foundation reported $11.1 million in revenue and $15.9 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $94.26 went to program services, $5.74 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 75.2% of the total. Revenue fell 2% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $16M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
94.3%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
5.7%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
75.2%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
23.256.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$15M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $15M

The foundation supports individuals and the families of individuals who are actively serving or veterans of the U.S. Military, as well as supporting organizations in the communities in which Veterans United home loans' offices are located. Support is given in the form of monetary gifts and scholarships, and in non-monetary expenditures such as care packages or other charitable items. Upon application, vuf grants donations and non-monetary gifts to organizations and individuals deemed deserving, without regard to their military status or community location

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M2019202020212022202320242025$11M$16M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$11M$16M94.3%$31M—
2024 ⓘ$10M$14M93.7%$32M—
2023 ⓘ$7.5M$11M92.5%$33M—
2022 ⓘ$11M$18M94.5%$32M—
2021 ⓘ$30M$30M96.8%$46M—
2020 ⓘ$26M$14M95.5%$45M—
2019 ⓘ$11M$7.5M93.1%$28M—

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 63,046

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Veterans United Foundation totaling $1,528 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Veterans United Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Veterans United Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Missouri

Questions people ask

How much of Veterans United Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, Veterans United Foundation reported that 94.3% of its $15.9 million in expenses went to program services, 5.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Veterans United Foundation get its money?

Of $11.1 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 75.2% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Veterans United Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 45-3630533 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202641349349307664 · read the filing
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202541339349305194 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202401369349311990 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202332859349301403 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202222769349300437 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202121319349301782 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202011979349303386 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 45-3630533: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.