Home › Arts, culture & humanities
Colebrookdale Railroad Preservation Trust
Colebrookdale Railroad Preservation Trust reported $10.7 million in revenue and $3.0 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $95.76 went to program services, $3.71 to management and general costs and $0.53 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 69.7% of the total. Revenue rose 339% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $3.0MFor context, the median across 874 covered arts, culture & humanities charities: $79.92 programs, $13.89 management, $6.19 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 95.8% | 78.3% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 3.7% | 13.6% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.5% | 6.1% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.10 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 69.7% | 57.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.7% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 18.8% | 20.8% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $385,706 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 2.03% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 142.2 | 36.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 7 of 7 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense7 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 615
Private foundation grants it received
2 private foundations reported grants to Colebrookdale Railroad Preservation Trust totaling $15,077 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Colebrookdale Railroad Preservation Trust's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Colebrookdale Railroad Preservation Trust, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Colebrookdale Railroad Preservation Trust spent in 2025, $95.76 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Oregon Historical SocietyPortland, OR · revenue $11M · programs 77.7% · 2025
- Prairie Public BroadcastingFargo, ND · revenue $11M · programs 72.6% · FY2025
- Penland School Of CraftPenland, NC · revenue $11M · programs 70.6% · FY2025
- Radio Kingston CorpKingston, NY · revenue $11M · programs 100.0% · 2024
- Cincinnati Public RadioCincinnati, OH · revenue $11M · programs 69.1% · FY2025
All arts, culture & humanities charities · Largest charities in Pennsylvania
Questions people ask
How much of Colebrookdale Railroad Preservation Trust's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2025, Colebrookdale Railroad Preservation Trust reported that 95.8% of its $3.0 million in expenses went to program services, 3.7% to management and general and 0.5% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Colebrookdale Railroad Preservation Trust get its money?
Of $10.7 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 69.7% came from contributions and grants and 18.8% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Colebrookdale Railroad Preservation Trust a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 45-4265442 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202622549349301127 · read the filing · XML
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202532169349301513 · read the filing
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202412789349300001 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202411509349301351 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202223199349313182 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202103199349303765 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202023219349309257 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 45-4265442: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.