Charity Impact Media

Home › Health care

Ourcare

Lanham, MD · EIN 45-5345598 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Ourcare reported $26.5 million in revenue and $17.6 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 476% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $18M

For context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $27M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 5,634 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%85.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%1.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
100.0%93.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$975,831
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.34%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
027
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
12.06.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
0 of 288.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$18M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $27M

Successfully provided healthcare services to individuals with developmental disability

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$27M$18M100.0%$18M—
2023 ⓘ$18M$14M100.0%$8.5M—
2022 ⓘ$12M$10M100.0%$5.2M—
2021 ⓘ$9.7M$8.5M100.0%$3.7M—
2020 ⓘ$7.6M$5.6M100.0%$2.6M—
2019 ⓘ$4.6M$4.4M100.0%$572K—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b2 · 0 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5325

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Ourcare's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Ourcare, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Ourcare's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Ourcare reported that 100.0% of its $17.6 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Ourcare get its money?

Of $26.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 100.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Ourcare a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 45-5345598 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202502129349300600 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443189349312319 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202342429349301244 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202202589349302230 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202113599349300201 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202112249349302811 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 45-5345598: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.