Charity Impact Media

Home › Human services

Lifequest

Mitchell, SD · EIN 46-0348946 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Lifequest reported $15.7 million in revenue and $14.4 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $86.03 went to program services, $13.10 to management and general costs and $0.87 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 86.2% of the total. Government grants made up 8.9%. Revenue rose 48% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $14M

For context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $16M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 3,614 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
86.0%87.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
13.1%11.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.9%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.06$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
13.4%20.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
8.9%2.4%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
86.2%70.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$274,992
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.18%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported6
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
7.96.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
12 of 12100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$4.0M expenses · 32.1% of program spending · revenue $15M

Lifequest provides day services to approximately 152 people who have intellectual or developmental disabilities. Day services include job interest, readiness, coaching and maintenance. Other day services include life skills education and enhancement support and experiences

$6.4M expenses · 51.5% of program spending

Lifequest provides residential services to approximately 155 people who have intellectual or developmental disabilities - 75 in group homes, 5 in supervised apartments, 20 in shared-living, and 55 in monitored apartments in the community. Various services are provided - personal care, food services, shopping, transportation, and social recreational supports, etc

$1.4M expenses · 11.2% of program spending

Lifequest provides family support services (financial assistance, respite care, personal care, etc.) to about 650 families around the state of south dakota so that they can keep their children at home, to prevent out- of-home placement

$645K all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$16M$14M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$16M$14M86.0%$9.5M—
FY2024 ⓘ$20M$18M88.2%$8.2M—
FY2023 ⓘ$16M$15M90.2%$6.4M—
FY2022 ⓘ$14M$13M91.7%$5.5M—
FY2021 ⓘ$15M$12M91.2%$5.1M—
FY2020 ⓘ$11M$11M91.9%$1.7M$87,496

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b12 · 12 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5905
  • Volunteers Part I, line 612

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Lifequest's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Lifequest, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All human services charities · Largest charities in South Dakota

Questions people ask

How much of Lifequest's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Lifequest reported that 86.0% of its $14.4 million in expenses went to program services, 13.1% to management and general and 0.9% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Lifequest get its money?

Of $15.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 13.4% came from contributions and grants (including 8.9% from government grants) and 86.2% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Lifequest a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 46-0348946 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202631049349300723 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202510279349301911 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421239349300142 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202301359349313730 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202210079349302466 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202121249349300912 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 46-0348946: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.