Charity Impact Media

Home › Unclassified

Assn of Hutterian Brethren Churches

Aberdeen, SD · EIN 46-0369923 · 501(c)(3) · Church
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Assn of Hutterian Brethren Churches reported $34.3 million in revenue and $33.1 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026. Of every $100 it spent, $99.43 went to program services, $0.57 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 97.5% of the total. Revenue rose 17% between FY2020 and FY2026. Source: Form 990, FY2026.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending April 30, 2026 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $33M

For context, the median across 2,433 covered unclassified charities: $88.27 programs, $11.68 management, $0.05 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending April 30, 2026 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $34M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2026 filing. Median across 2,433 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2026Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.4%86.7%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.6%11.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%29.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%3.8%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
97.5%58.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$301,601
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.38%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
11.46.8
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2026 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$33M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $33M

Collected payments and processed obligations for eighty-eight Hutterite Colonies in South Dakota, ten in North Dakota, and four in Minnesota

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2026 ⓘ$34M$33M99.4%$32M—
FY2025 ⓘ$34M$27M99.2%$30M—
FY2024 ⓘ$34M$30M99.2%$24M—
FY2023 ⓘ$35M$29M99.7%$20M—
FY2022 ⓘ$28M$26M99.4%$14M—
FY2021 ⓘ$30M$29M99.6%$12M—
FY2020 ⓘ$29M$30M99.5%$11M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2026 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 64

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Assn of Hutterian Brethren Churches's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Assn of Hutterian Brethren Churches, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Assn of Hutterian Brethren Churches's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026, Assn of Hutterian Brethren Churches reported that 99.4% of its $33.1 million in expenses went to program services, 0.6% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Assn of Hutterian Brethren Churches get its money?

Of $34.3 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 97.5% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Assn of Hutterian Brethren Churches a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 46-0369923 as a 501(c)(3) organization (church), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2026: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2026, object 202601989349301500 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2025, object 202542329349300919 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2024, object 202412979349300631 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2023, object 202342309349300619 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2022, object 202242929349301114 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2021, object 202112509349301416 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2020, object 202022589349300962 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 46-0369923: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.