Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

South Louisiana Charter Academy Foundation

Baton Rouge, LA · EIN 46-0656134 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

South Louisiana Charter Academy Foundation reported $24.5 million in revenue and $23.2 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $73.74 went to program services, $26.26 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.3% of the total. Government grants made up 99.3%. Revenue rose 61% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $23M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $25M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
73.7%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
26.3%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
99.3%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
99.3%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.2%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-1.713.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
8 of 8100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$8.6M expenses · 50.5% of program spending · revenue $38,372

The foundation operates south baton rouge Charter Academy, a tuition-free public charter school that will educate elementary and middle school students in east baton rouge parish, louisiana

$8.5M expenses · 49.5% of program spending · revenue $5,817

The foundation operates iberville Charter Academy, a tuition-free public charter school that will educate elementary and middle school students in iberville parish, louisiana

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$25M$23M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$25M$23M73.7%−$3.3M—
FY2024 ⓘ$25M$23M78.8%−$4.7M—
FY2023 ⓘ$22M$23M75.8%−$6.5M—
FY2022 ⓘ$19M$19M75.8%−$6.0M—
FY2021 ⓘ$17M$17M75.0%−$5.4M—
FY2020 ⓘ$15M$15M75.7%−$5.8M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 8 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5201

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
CHARTER SCHOOLS USA
Management fees and expense reimbursemen
$5,874,791
10JIN LLC
It infrastructure, security, support svc
$4,623,184
BLENDED & ONLINE SCHOOL SOLUTIONS LLC
Online pod services, supplies
$3,558,615
ELIOR INC A'VIANDS LLC
Student meals
$1,133,886

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 4 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from South Louisiana Charter Academy Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for South Louisiana Charter Academy Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Louisiana

Questions people ask

How much of South Louisiana Charter Academy Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, South Louisiana Charter Academy Foundation reported that 73.7% of its $23.2 million in expenses went to program services, 26.3% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does South Louisiana Charter Academy Foundation get its money?

Of $24.5 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 99.3% came from contributions and grants (including 99.3% from government grants) and 0.2% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is South Louisiana Charter Academy Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 46-0656134 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202611249349302461 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202511359349305141 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421359349307532 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202332689349300933 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202211369349305286 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202111349349305071 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 46-0656134: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.