Rtog Foundation
Rtog Foundation reported $14.8 million in revenue and $13.5 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $94.51 went to program services, $5.49 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 71.4% of the total. Government grants made up 25.8%. Revenue rose 113% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $13MFor context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $15MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 94.5% | 85.6% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 5.5% | 13.7% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 25.9% | 1.3% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 25.8% | 0.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 71.4% | 93.7% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $975,831 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.34% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 27 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 10.5 | 6.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 14 of 14 | 88.9% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseRtogf's primary program constitutes the following: (1) improve the survival outcome and quality of life of adults with cancer through the conduct of high-quality clinical trials, (2) evaluate new forms of radiotherapy delivery and test new systemic and targeted therapies in conjunction with radiotherapy in the context of clinical research, (3) participate as one of three member organizations in the activities of nrg oncology foundation, (4) develop and conduct practice-changing clinical trials for the nci national clinical trial network (nctn) through rtogf's membership in nrg oncology, (5)…
7 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b14 · 14 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 614
Largest outside contractors
2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| RXCROSSROADS BY MCKESSON Drug distribution | $422,469 |
| UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA -UCSF Biospecimen banking | $384,194 |
| NSABP FOUNDATION INC Accounting and consulting | $373,373 |
| PRINCESS MARGARET CANCER CENTRE Research studies | $246,696 |
| CEDARS-SINAI MEDICAL CENTER Research studies | $188,550 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 9 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Rtog Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Rtog Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Rtog Foundation spent in 2025, $94.51 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Planned Parenthood SoutheastAtlanta, GA · revenue $15M · programs 73.3% · FY2025
- Baxter Regional Health SystemMountain Home, AR · revenue $15M · programs 93.5% · 2024
- Shannon Real Estate ServicesSan Angelo, TX · revenue $15M · programs 100.0% · FY2025
- Fhcsd Growth FundSan Diego, CA · revenue $15M · programs 100.0% · FY2025
- Tja Orthopedic Surgery PcNew York, NY · revenue $15M · programs 97.3% · 2024
All health care charities · Largest charities in Pennsylvania
Questions people ask
How much of Rtog Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2025, Rtog Foundation reported that 94.5% of its $13.5 million in expenses went to program services, 5.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Rtog Foundation get its money?
Of $14.8 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 25.9% came from contributions and grants (including 25.8% from government grants) and 71.4% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Rtog Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 46-0902111 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202602679349301415 · read the filing
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202502969349301320 · read the filing
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423049349302737 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202343179349310694 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202223199349320957 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202103199349307200 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202043219349313224 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 46-0902111: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.