Charitable Gift America
Charitable Gift America reported $13.5 million in revenue and $15.8 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $78.34 went to program services, $3.24 to management and general costs and $18.42 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.0% of the total. Revenue rose 1125% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $16MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 78.3% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 3.2% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 18.4% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.22 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 99.0% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 3.4 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 3 of 4 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 3 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
Private foundation grants it received
4 private foundations reported grants to Charitable Gift America totaling $1.2M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Charitable Gift America's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Charitable Gift America, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Charitable Gift America spent in FY2025, $78.34 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- City AcademySt Louis, MO · revenue $13M · programs 78.7% · FY2025
- The Potters HouseWyoming, MI · revenue $13M · programs 78.8% · FY2025
- Sarasota Military AcademySarasota, FL · revenue $13M · programs 65.7% · FY2025
- Miami ArtsMiami, FL · revenue $13M · programs 48.5% · FY2025
- Lih Memorial Grant FundBrookline Village, MA · revenue $13M · programs 99.2% · 2024
Questions people ask
How much of Charitable Gift America's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Charitable Gift America reported that 78.3% of its $15.8 million in expenses went to program services, 3.2% to management and general and 18.4% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Charitable Gift America get its money?
Of $13.5 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 99.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Charitable Gift America a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 46-1288701 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202503079349301080 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202433169349301783 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202323179349304172 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202212989349300641 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202132649349301113 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202023079349302172 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 46-1288701: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.