Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

Bright Funds Foundation

San Jose, CA · EIN 46-2109112 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Bright Funds Foundation reported $25.6 million in revenue and $22.3 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.07 went to program services, $0.93 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.5% of the total. Revenue fell 37% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $22M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $26M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.1%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.9%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
99.5%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
3.156.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
3 of 3100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$22M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $21M · revenue $26M

The foundation provides a platform for supporting charitable programs, charitable initiatives, and charitable organizations in order to enhance and improve the lives of those in need. To accomplish these purposes, it will encourage and facilitate online giving opportunities to and for all 501(c)(3) charitable organizations with the goal of increasing philanthropy while decreasing the cost of fundraising as a whole by providing the public with straightforward and secure ways to donate to, or volunteer for, the charity of their choice, and track their giving through state of the art…

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$25M$50M$75M$100M20192021202220232024$26M$22M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 (amended) ⓘ$26M$22M99.1%$5.8M—
2023 ⓘ$86M$84M96.2%$15M—
2022 ⓘ$70M$68M96.5%$24M—
2021 ⓘ$59M$61M96.4%$23M—
2019 ⓘ$41M$37M95.3%$16M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Private foundation grants it received

3 private foundations reported grants to Bright Funds Foundation totaling $105K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Bright Funds Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Bright Funds Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in California

Questions people ask

How much of Bright Funds Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Bright Funds Foundation reported that 99.1% of its $22.3 million in expenses went to program services, 0.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Bright Funds Foundation get its money?

Of $25.6 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 99.5% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Bright Funds Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 46-2109112 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (amended), object 202503459349301950 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202433209349327603 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202342909349300144 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202233559349301563 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202033189349308768 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 46-2109112: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.