Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Alliance Preparatory Schools

Charlotte, NC · EIN 46-4207477 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Alliance Preparatory Schools reported $27.1 million in revenue and $26.2 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $70.32 went to program services, $29.68 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 80.1% of the total. Government grants made up 6.8%. Revenue rose 122% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $26M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $27M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
70.3%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
29.7%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
6.8%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
6.8%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
80.1%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
3.013.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 5100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$18M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

Operated two charter schools in Charlotte, NC serving approximately 1,857 students for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2025

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$27M$26M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$27M$26M70.3%$6.5M—
FY2024 ⓘ$26M$25M83.0%$6.4M—
FY2023 ⓘ$24M$24M70.5%$5.6M—
FY2022 ⓘ$23M$21M72.7%$5.2M—
FY2021 ⓘ$20M$17M67.9%$3.9M—
FY2020 ⓘ$12M$12M75.2%$1.2M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5270

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Alliance Preparatory Schools's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Alliance Preparatory Schools, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in North Carolina

Questions people ask

How much of Alliance Preparatory Schools's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Alliance Preparatory Schools reported that 70.3% of its $26.2 million in expenses went to program services, 29.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Alliance Preparatory Schools get its money?

Of $27.1 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 6.8% came from contributions and grants (including 6.8% from government grants) and 80.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Alliance Preparatory Schools a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 46-4207477 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202610569349301501 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202511339349301781 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202401149349300615 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202330149349300513 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202123509349300712 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202100819349300605 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 46-4207477: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.