Bonnie Cone Classical Academy
Bonnie Cone Classical Academy reported $27.9 million in revenue and $32.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $64.82 went to program services, $35.18 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 83.5% of the total. Government grants made up 79.0%. Revenue rose 951% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $33MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $28MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 64.8% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 35.2% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 83.5% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 79.0% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 2.0% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | -2.1 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 5 of 5 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseOperation of two public charter schools:Bonnie Cone Classical Academy, inc. Served approximately 651 students during the fiscal year ended june 30, 2025, providing education to children in the community.Bonnie Cone leadership academy, inc. Served approximately 1,267 students during the same fiscal year, also providing education to children in the community
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 65
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Bonnie Cone Classical Academy's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Bonnie Cone Classical Academy, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Bonnie Cone Classical Academy spent in FY2025, $64.82 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- El Paso Education InitiativeEl Paso, TX · revenue $28M · programs 89.9% · FY2025
- The Freedom Academy FoundationProvo, UT · revenue $28M · programs 87.5% · FY2025
- Morris Jeff Community SchoolNew Orleans, LA · revenue $28M · programs 91.0% · FY2025
- Houston Gateway AcademyHouston, TX · revenue $28M · programs 63.7% · FY2025
- Wayne State University FoundationDetroit, MI · revenue $28M · programs 77.9% · FY2025
All education charities · Largest charities in North Carolina
Questions people ask
How much of Bonnie Cone Classical Academy's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Bonnie Cone Classical Academy reported that 64.8% of its $32.5 million in expenses went to program services, 35.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Bonnie Cone Classical Academy get its money?
Of $27.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 83.5% came from contributions and grants (including 79.0% from government grants) and 2.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Bonnie Cone Classical Academy a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 46-4248852 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202621339349302737 · read the filing
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202502809349301120 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202411249349300246 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202301299349302050 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202210399349300016 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141269349301509 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 46-4248852: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.