Charity Impact Media

Home › Health care

Jefferson University Physicians of New Jersey

Philadelphia, PA · EIN 46-4855345 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Jefferson University Physicians of New Jersey reported $17.0 million in revenue and $18.7 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $91.07 went to program services, $8.81 to management and general costs and $0.12 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 100.0% of the total. Revenue fell 6% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $19M

For context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $17M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,634 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
91.1%85.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
8.8%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.1%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%1.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
100.0%93.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$975,831
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.34%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
027
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-2.76.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
0 of 188.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$17M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $17M

Expenses incurred in providing physician services, practicing medicine and surgery through duly licensed physicians and surgeons in a manner beneficial to the community and in furtherance of the charitable and educational purposes of thomas Jefferson University and thomas Jefferson University hospitals, inc

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$17M$19M91.1%−$4.2M—
FY2024 ⓘ$16M$18M90.4%−$2.5M—
FY2023 ⓘ$17M$17M100.0%−$796K—
FY2022 ⓘ$21M$21M100.0%−$796K—
FY2021 ⓘ$21M$21M100.0%−$983K—
FY2020 ⓘ$18M$19M100.0%−$202K$1,739,403

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b1 · 0 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Jefferson University Physicians of New Jersey's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Jefferson University Physicians of New Jersey, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Jefferson University Physicians of New Jersey's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Jefferson University Physicians of New Jersey reported that 91.1% of its $18.7 million in expenses went to program services, 8.8% to management and general and 0.1% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Jefferson University Physicians of New Jersey get its money?

Of $17.0 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 100.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Jefferson University Physicians of New Jersey a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 46-4855345 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202631349349302058 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202521349349308912 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202431369349305743 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202311359349308416 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202231369349303793 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141349349303149 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 46-4855345: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.