Green Dot Public Schools National
Green Dot Public Schools National reported negative $521,689 in revenue and $397,407 in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $0.00 went to program services, $100.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $507,676 (Former CEO). 9 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue fell 104% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $397KFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 100.0% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | Not reported | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | Not reported | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | Not reported | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | $507,676 | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | 127.75% | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 9 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 27.5 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 5 of 5 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseHighest reported compensation
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here| Role | From this org | From related orgs | Other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Former CEO Former, 0.00 hrs/week | $489,900 | $0 | $17,776 | $507,676 |
| Former Chief Growth Officer Former, 0.00 hrs/week | $399,873 | $0 | $7,989 | $407,862 |
| Former Chief Operating Officer Former, 0.00 hrs/week | $337,928 | $0 | $22,876 | $360,804 |
| Former Chief Development Officer Former, 0.00 hrs/week | $300,264 | $0 | $23,106 | $323,370 |
| Former Director of Academics Former, 0.00 hrs/week | $173,154 | $0 | $13,465 | $186,619 |
| Former General Counsel Former, 0.00 hrs/week | $165,473 | $0 | $16,927 | $182,400 |
| Former Director of Student Curriculum Former, 0.00 hrs/week | $180,672 | $0 | $66 | $180,738 |
| Former Director of IT Former, 0.00 hrs/week | $151,242 | $0 | $10,430 | $161,672 |
9 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation from Green Dot Public Schools National (Part VII, line 2).
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 572
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Green Dot Public Schools National's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Green Dot Public Schools National, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Green Dot Public Schools National spent in FY2025, $0.00 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Questions people ask
How much of Green Dot Public Schools National's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Green Dot Public Schools National reported that 0.0% of its $397,407 in expenses went to program services, 100.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
How much does Green Dot Public Schools National pay its top executive?
The largest total compensation Green Dot Public Schools National reported for one person in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 was $507,676, for the role of Former CEO (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).
Where does Green Dot Public Schools National get its money?
Of negative $521,689 in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, -0.0% came from contributions and grants and -1.7% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Green Dot Public Schools National a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 46-5740783 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202632479349300908 · read the filing
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202511359349308471 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202441149349301339 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321329349302922 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202211249349302291 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202130409349300433 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 46-5740783: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.