Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Turken Foundation

New York, NY · EIN 47-1421022 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024 (tax year 2023) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Turken Foundation reported $19.6 million in revenue and $3.1 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $87.63 went to program services, $12.37 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.9% of the total. Revenue rose 110% between FY2020 and FY2024. Source: Form 990, FY2024.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $3.1M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $20M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2024 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
87.6%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
12.4%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
99.9%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.1%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
296.313.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
11 of 11100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$0 expenses

To provide educational oppurtunities including students scholorships & grant awards based on financial needs and or merits

$2.7M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $20M

Provide student housing including grants & subsidies to meet the gap in culturally & religiously appropriate housing in the new york city & beyond for muslim students. The housing to include protecting the privacy of female students, provide gender separation in living accomodations, provide halal food service, enforce restrictions against the use of drugs, alcohol and to provide prayer rooms and religious support for holy days.the foundation has also provided subsidized housing to various students during the current year

$0 expenses

Cultural and social awareness programs and experiences for students to learn more about muslim cultures and to promote cross-cultural relationships between muslim cultures and traditions with american cultures and traditions

4 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2022FY2023FY2024$20M$3.1M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2024 (amended) ⓘ$20M$3.1M87.6%$77M—
FY2023 ⓘ$2.5M$2.8M62.1%$60M—
FY2022 ⓘ$18,984$807K60.8%$62M—
FY2020 ⓘ$9.3M$769K64.0%$60M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b11 · 11 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 644

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Turken Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Turken Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in New York

Questions people ask

How much of Turken Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, Turken Foundation reported that 87.6% of its $3.1 million in expenses went to program services, 12.4% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Turken Foundation get its money?

Of $19.6 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, 99.9% came from contributions and grants and 0.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Turken Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 47-1421022 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2021, 2022, 2023. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024 (amended), object 202502799349300800 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202412009349300401 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202340749349301979 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202121959349300737 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 47-1421022: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.