Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

Pious Projects of America

Bridgeview, IL · EIN 47-1508583 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Pious Projects of America reported $16.8 million in revenue and $17.0 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $98.81 went to program services, $0.89 to management and general costs and $0.30 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 309% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $17M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $17M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
98.8%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.9%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.3%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
100.0%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
5.156.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
6 of 6100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$13M expenses · 75.1% of program spending · grants $12M

Emergency relief - Pious Projects of America is committed to assisting those suffering from natural and man-made disasters by providing food, water, medical supplies and other essential items to affected areas. The emergency relief programs seek to address the immediate needs of those overcome by catastrophic circumstances, including aid for refugees, water and food packages to those stricken with drought, famine, disaster and other timely assistance

$2.5M expenses · 14.6% of program spending · grants $2.4M

Poverty relief aid - Pious Projects of America works tirelessly to aid those in need. The organization continues to develop the neediest villages in africa by building water wells, schools, medical centers and religious centers. The organization is committed to the long-term development of underdeveloped and impoverished populations in order to provide sustainable relief and alleviate poverty and suffering for those communities

$851K expenses · 5.1% of program spending · grants $824K

Orphan support - the orphan support campaign provides assistance to orphans throughout the world and includes providing orphaned children with daily care, clothing, food, shelter and other essentials. Additionally the organziation is developing orphanges and an orphan academy to provide the orphans with basic necessities and a quality education

$887K all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$17M$17M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$17M$17M98.8%$7.2M—
2023 ⓘ$12M$9.3M98.0%$7.5M—
2022 ⓘ$8.2M$6.3M97.5%$4.3M—
2021 ⓘ$8.2M$7.1M98.1%$2.4M—
2020 ⓘ$5.3M$5.0M97.8%$1.3M—
2019 ⓘ$4.1M$3.5M96.5%$956K—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 53
  • Volunteers Part I, line 62,850

Private foundation grants it received

11 private foundations reported grants to Pious Projects of America totaling $44,845 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Pious Projects of America's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Pious Projects of America, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Illinois

Questions people ask

How much of Pious Projects of America's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Pious Projects of America reported that 98.8% of its $17.0 million in expenses went to program services, 0.9% to management and general and 0.3% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Pious Projects of America get its money?

Of $16.8 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 100.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Pious Projects of America a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 47-1508583 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202503039349300500 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202421969349300117 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202301839349300405 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202202079349300000 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202141809349300619 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202011789349301576 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 47-1508583: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.