Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

The Goodwill Excel Center Public Charter School

Washington, DC · EIN 47-4283739 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The Goodwill Excel Center Public Charter School reported $12.9 million in revenue and $12.2 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $92.43 went to program services, $7.57 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Government grants made up 100.0%. Revenue rose 70% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
92.4%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
7.6%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
100.0%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
100.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
10.513.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 10100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$11M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $166K

The Goodwill Excel Center (gec) provides adult learners in washington, dc, with an opportunity to earn a high school diploma. Gec is the first of its kind in the district where students earn their high school diploma and career credentials in addition to the opportunity to earn college credit. Gec fills the gap between traditional high school programs and ged adult education programs. Gec builds on a proven model that was founded in indiana and serves students across the country in over ten states nationally. Gec seeks to provide training and academic support to students who have not yet…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$13M$12M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$13M$12M92.4%$11M—
FY2024 ⓘ$12M$11M93.2%$10M—
FY2023 ⓘ$9.9M$9.7M93.4%$9.4M—
FY2022 ⓘ$9.7M$8.4M94.1%$9.2M—
FY2021 ⓘ$7.5M$6.3M92.7%$7.9M—
FY2020 ⓘ$7.6M$6.3M92.4%$6.6M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b10 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 66

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
GOODWILL OF GREATER WASHINGTON
Management fees
$1,191,286
YMCA OF METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON
Operation of child devt center
$639,110
THE STEPPING STONE GROUP LLC
Special education service
$179,559
ROSENBERG MEDIA
Advertising services
$158,584
ALLIED UNIVERSAL SECURITY SERVICES
Security guards
$149,008

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 7 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The Goodwill Excel Center Public Charter School's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Goodwill Excel Center Public Charter School, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in District of Columbia

Questions people ask

How much of The Goodwill Excel Center Public Charter School's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, The Goodwill Excel Center Public Charter School reported that 92.4% of its $12.2 million in expenses went to program services, 7.6% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The Goodwill Excel Center Public Charter School get its money?

Of $12.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 100.0% came from contributions and grants (including 100.0% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The Goodwill Excel Center Public Charter School a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 47-4283739 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202621349349307717 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202521259349301982 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421219349301987 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202341179349300704 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202211329349302591 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202110819349300626 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 47-4283739: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.