Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Slam Foundation

Miami, FL · EIN 47-5277840 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Slam Foundation reported $14.4 million in revenue and $13.7 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $98.87 went to program services, $1.13 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 53.6% of the total. Revenue rose 135% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $14M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
98.9%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
1.1%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
43.0%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
53.6%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
2.413.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
3 of 3100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$14M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $2.6M · revenue $8.2M

Slam Foundation, inc. Supports several 501(c)(3) educational organizations which operate charter schools nationwide. The support the foundation provides helps these charter schools deliver enhanced educational services to their students

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$14M$14M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$14M$14M98.9%$2.7M—
2023 ⓘ$14M$16M99.7%$1.9M—
2022 ⓘ$8.4M$8.0M99.0%$4.0M—
2021 ⓘ$6.8M$6.6M99.4%$3.6M—
2020 ⓘ$8.4M$8.5M99.6%$3.4M—
2019 ⓘ$6.1M$5.4M98.7%$3.5M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 53

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
SUMMIT SCHOOL PROPERTY LLC
Rent
$1,892,861
ADP TOTAL SOURCE
Payroll
$247,282

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 2 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

2 private foundations reported grants to Slam Foundation totaling $325K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Slam Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Slam Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Florida

Questions people ask

How much of Slam Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Slam Foundation reported that 98.9% of its $13.7 million in expenses went to program services, 1.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Slam Foundation get its money?

Of $14.4 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 43.0% came from contributions and grants and 53.6% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Slam Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 47-5277840 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523169349308262 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443139349302074 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202303199349312695 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202223199349315352 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202123169349310322 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202033219349302403 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 47-5277840: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.