Paws of Honor
Paws of Honor reported $10.6 million in revenue and $9.8 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $26.62 went to program services, $10.38 to management and general costs and $63.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.3% of the total. Revenue rose 443% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $9.8MFor context, the median across 245 covered animal-related charities: $83.96 programs, $9.42 management, $6.62 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 26.6% | 82.1% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 10.4% | 9.2% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 63.0% | 6.5% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.59 | $0.10 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 99.3% | 67.3% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 19.3% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $314,886 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.63% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 10 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 2.7 | 26.8 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 5 of 5 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseMedical services to retired k-9's who have served our country. Retired k-9's deserve accessible, high quality veterinary care in return for their commitment and sacrifice for our country and the monetary burden associated with veterinary care should not fall on the shoulders of the officer, handler and owner once the k-9 has been decommissioned. During 2024, the organization provided medical services and products with a retail value of $1,452,492 and since 2016 the organization has provided veterinary services and products with a retail value over $6,286,185 at no cost to the handler
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 58
- Volunteers Part I, line 650
Largest outside contractors
2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| AMERICAN TARGET ADVERTISING Direct mail | $1,137,750 |
| RHA MARKETING LLC Mailshop | $988,473 |
| DIRECT MAIL PROCESSORS INC Caging | $624,997 |
| DEUTSCH DM Mail shop | $256,858 |
| PMC INC Mail shop | $204,685 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 6 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
33 private foundations reported grants to Paws of Honor totaling $77,782 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Paws of Honor's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Paws of Honor, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Paws of Honor spent in 2024, $26.62 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- International Pacific Halibut CommissionSeattle, WA · revenue $11M · programs 62.4% · FY2025
- Animal SamaritansThousand Palms, CA · revenue $11M · programs 89.6% · 2024
- The Cleveland Animal Protective LeagueCleveland, OH · revenue $10M · programs 81.7% · 2024
- Humane Society of Broward CountyFort Lauderdale, FL · revenue $11M · programs 76.8% · FY2025
- Kansas City Pet ProjectKansas City, MO · revenue $10M · programs 85.4% · 2024
All animal-related charities · Largest charities in Virginia
Questions people ask
How much of Paws of Honor's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Paws of Honor reported that 26.6% of its $9.8 million in expenses went to program services, 10.4% to management and general and 63.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Paws of Honor get its money?
Of $10.6 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 99.3% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Paws of Honor a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 47-5643489 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202512329349301406 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202422229349300112 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202332729349301553 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202212209349300611 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202143129349303774 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202032699349300208 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 47-5643489: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.