Milford Housing Development Corp
Milford Housing Development Corp reported $19.0 million in revenue and $12.0 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $82.45 went to program services, $16.55 to management and general costs and $1.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 63.7% of the total. Government grants made up 58.7%. Revenue rose 29% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12MFor context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $19M- Contributions & grants (non-government)$4.93 $956K
- Government grants$57.44 $11M
- Program service revenue$36.97 $7.2M
- Investment income$0.66 $129K
Other revenue was negative: −$421K. The bar shows the positive sources only.
The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 82.4% | 87.5% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 16.6% | 10.5% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 1.0% | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.01 | $0.01 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 63.7% | 17.0% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 58.7% | 1.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 37.8% | 66.2% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $300,863 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.57% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 5 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | -2.9 | 10.0 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 10 of 10 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseTo provide and manage 189 low to moderate income housing units subsidized by hud and usda-rd, governed by hud and usda regulations; to provide assistance to individuals under the usda self help housing program; to rehabilitate homes for sale to families of modest means; to provide construction services to entities providing housing to families of modest means; to maintain the financial and compliance records to ensure the families of modest means are receiving the proper benefits
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b10 · 10 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 521
- Volunteers Part I, line 6111
Private foundation grants it received
5 private foundations reported grants to Milford Housing Development Corp totaling $85,063 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Milford Housing Development Corp's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Milford Housing Development Corp, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Milford Housing Development Corp spent in 2024, $82.45 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Carondelet VillageRoseville, MN · revenue $19M · programs 86.2% · FY2025
- Indianapolis Sr CARE LlcBrookhaven, GA · revenue $19M · programs 87.3% · 2024
- Abe's GardenNashville, TN · revenue $19M · programs 80.3% · 2024
- Community Housing PartnershipSan Francisco, CA · revenue $19M · programs 88.8% · 2024
- Housing Plus SolutionsBrooklyn, NY · revenue $19M · programs 88.8% · FY2025
All housing & shelter charities · Largest charities in Delaware
Questions people ask
How much of Milford Housing Development Corp's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Milford Housing Development Corp reported that 82.4% of its $12.0 million in expenses went to program services, 16.6% to management and general and 1.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Milford Housing Development Corp get its money?
Of $19.0 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 63.7% came from contributions and grants (including 58.7% from government grants) and 37.8% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Milford Housing Development Corp a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 51-0218904 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543109349301629 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202441929349300224 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202301729349300345 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202221949349300307 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202142009349300429 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202012599349301616 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 51-0218904: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.