Charity Impact Media

Home › Health care

James Lawrence Kernan Hospital

Also known as UM Rehabilitation thopaedic Institute

Baltimore, MD · EIN 52-0591639 · 501(c)(3) · Hospital or medical research organization
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

James Lawrence Kernan Hospital reported $143.8 million in revenue and $134.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $85.15 went to program services, $14.85 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 95.3% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $3,940,617 (PRESIDENT AND CEO, UMMS). 163 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 22% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $135M

For context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $144M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,634 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
85.1%85.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
14.9%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%1.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
95.3%93.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
$3,940,617$975,831
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
2.92%1.34%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
16327
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
16.36.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
10 of 1388.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$115M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $139M

James L. Kernan Hospital (DBA University of Maryland Rehabilitation thopedic Institute (UMROI)) OWNS AND OPERATES A MEDICAL, SURGICAL AND REHABILITATION HOSPITAL WITH 144 LICENSED BEDS. UMROI PROVIDES CHARITY CARE TO PATIENTS WHO ARE UNABLE TO PAY. SUCH PATIENTS ARE IDENTIFIED BASED ON INFORMATION OBTAINED FROM THE PATIENTS AND SUBSEQUENT ANALYSIS. BECAUSE THE HOSPITAL DOES NOT EXPECT COLLECTION OF AMOUNTS DETERMINED AS CHARITY CARE, THEY ARE NOT REPORTED AS REVENUE BASED ON ESTABLISHED RATES. UMROI ESTIMATES OVER $1.0 MILLION OF CHARITY CARE AT COST WAS PROVIDED IN THE YEAR ENDED JUNE 30…

Highest reported compensation

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here
RoleFrom this orgFrom related orgsOtherTotal
PRESIDENT AND CEO, UMMS
Director/trustee, 1.0 hrs/week
$0$3,870,578$70,039$3,940,617
DIRECTOR
Director/trustee, 1.0 hrs/week
$0$725,837$52,031$777,868
VP MEDICAL AFFAIRS AND CMO
Key employee, 40.0 hrs/week
$582,836$0$52,530$635,366
FORMER ASSISTANT SECRETARY
Former, 0.0 hrs/week
$0$548,059$60,837$608,896
SVP, CAO & SECRETARY
Officer, 40.0 hrs/week
$441,678$0$88,607$530,285
PHYSICIAN
Highest compensated employee, 40.0 hrs/week
$388,927$0$40,394$429,321
DIRECTOR
Director/trustee, 1.0 hrs/week
$0$352,662$56,177$408,839
VP Finance
Officer, 40.0 hrs/week
$336,602$0$52,705$389,307

163 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation from James Lawrence Kernan Hospital (Part VII, line 2). Compensation of current officers, directors and key employees totaled $2.2M (Part IX, line 5).

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$50M$100M$150M$200MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$144M$135M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$144M$135M85.1%$183M$3,940,617
FY2024 ⓘ$133M$134M84.9%$169M$3,713,974
FY2023 ⓘ$137M$128M76.9%$160M$4,402,469
FY2022 ⓘ$132M$120M80.7%$152M$3,477,707
FY2021 ⓘ$125M$116M75.9%$156M$3,421,553
FY2020 ⓘ$118M$112M85.6%$130M$2,143,787

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b13 · 10 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5908
  • Volunteers Part I, line 6150

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
MDICS at UMROI LLC
Physician Services
$2,551,771
CROSS COUNTRY STAFFING INC
Agency staffing
$2,207,235
Crothall Healthcare
Environmental services
$658,852

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 35 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from James Lawrence Kernan Hospital's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for James Lawrence Kernan Hospital, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All health care charities · Largest charities in Maryland

Questions people ask

How much of James Lawrence Kernan Hospital's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, James Lawrence Kernan Hospital reported that 85.1% of its $134.9 million in expenses went to program services, 14.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

How much does James Lawrence Kernan Hospital pay its top executive?

The largest total compensation James Lawrence Kernan Hospital reported for one person in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 was $3,940,617, for the role of PRESIDENT AND CEO, UMMS (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).

Where does James Lawrence Kernan Hospital get its money?

Of $143.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants (including 0.0% from government grants) and 95.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is James Lawrence Kernan Hospital a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 52-0591639 as a 501(c)(3) organization (hospital or medical research organization), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202611329349305151 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202531339349306623 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202411349349304786 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202301319349306030 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202231339349302333 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202101339349304805 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 52-0591639: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.