Charity Impact Media

Home › Environment

Clean Streams Foundation

Lexington, KY · EIN 52-2286668 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization (509(a)(3))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Clean Streams Foundation reported $11.4 million in revenue and $8.0 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $81.27 went to program services, $18.73 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 63.1% of the total. Government grants made up 9.7%. Revenue rose 13% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $8.0M

For context, the median across 371 covered environment charities: $85.82 programs, $10.80 management, $3.38 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 371 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
81.3%83.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
18.7%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%3.3%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.03
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
21.9%87.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
9.7%4.8%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
14.9%3.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$293,532
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.74%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported7
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
331.718.8
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
3 of 3100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$6.5M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $1.7M

The foundation assures that funds will be available to operate and maintain water treatment systems to prevent or abate pollution and protect natural resources and public health

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$11M$8.0M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$11M$8.0M81.3%$222M—
2023 ⓘ$10M$7.9M82.8%$196M—
2022 ⓘ$7.9M$6.4M79.8%$171M—
2021 ⓘ$8.6M$6.1M78.1%$202M—
2020 (amended) ⓘ$11M$4.9M76.7%$178M—
2019 ⓘ$10M$5.4M81.1%$159M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
AMD INDUSTRIES INC
Water treatment
$1,042,539
KLEINFELDER INC
Capital improve
$741,236
INNOH20 SOLUTIONS LLC
Maintenance
$618,011
UBS FINANCIAL SERVICES
Investment mgmt
$583,811

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 8 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Clean Streams Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Clean Streams Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All environment charities · Largest charities in Kentucky

Questions people ask

How much of Clean Streams Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Clean Streams Foundation reported that 81.3% of its $8.0 million in expenses went to program services, 18.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Clean Streams Foundation get its money?

Of $11.4 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 21.9% came from contributions and grants (including 9.7% from government grants) and 14.9% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Clean Streams Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 52-2286668 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202503219349316305 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202433209349302558 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313199349315986 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202233199349310733 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020 (amended), object 202222569349301102 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202033189349302888 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 52-2286668: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.