Goodwill Services
Goodwill Services reported $11.4 million in revenue and $11.4 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $75.46 went to program services, $24.54 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 100.0% of the total. Revenue fell 1% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11MFor context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 75.5% | 87.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 24.5% | 11.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.2% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | Not reported | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 20.6% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 2.4% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 100.0% | 70.8% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $274,992 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.18% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 6 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 0.1 | 6.9 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 7 of 7 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5192
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Goodwill Services's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Goodwill Services, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Goodwill Services spent in 2024, $75.46 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Questions people ask
How much of Goodwill Services's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Goodwill Services reported that 75.5% of its $11.4 million in expenses went to program services, 24.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Goodwill Services get its money?
Of $11.4 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 100.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Goodwill Services a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 54-1821538 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202543149349303889 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202403179349301810 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313199349301931 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202223189349316447 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202123199349306857 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202043179349306699 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 54-1821538: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.