Charity Impact Media

Home › International, foreign affairs & national security

Bancroft Global Development

Washington, DC · EIN 54-1955545 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Bancroft Global Development reported $21.3 million in revenue and $29.7 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $92.31 went to program services, $7.69 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 89.0% of the total. Government grants made up 79.9%. Revenue fell 15% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $30M

For context, the median across 469 covered international, foreign affairs & national security charities: $89.04 programs, $8.28 management, $2.68 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $21M

Investment income was negative: −$96,331. The bar shows the positive sources only.

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 469 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
92.3%86.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
7.7%8.0%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%2.6%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.03
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
89.0%96.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
79.9%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
10.2%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$341,362
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.06%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
010
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
2.87.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
3 of 3100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$26M expenses · 94.1% of program spending · grants $9.9M · revenue $682K

Capacity Building: The Organization supports the African Union Transition Mission in Somalia (ATMIS) and Somali National Army (SNA) with professional education, to enable them to protect civilians and facilitate humanitarian assistance throughout Somalia. The Organization supports state and local law enforcement partners with professional education to improve the efficacy and efficiency of investigations and prosecutions and to foster public safety throughout Louisiana

$1.6M expenses · 5.8% of program spending · revenue $1.5M

Medical Services: The Organization provides medical services, to include aeromedical evacuations and surgeries, in support of peacekeeping forces, United Nations staff, and other authorized personnel within Somalia, Mali and Yemen. Additionally, the Organization provides training and certification for military and civilian medical personnel in Pre-Hospital Trauma Life Support, Tactical Combat Casualty Care, Advanced Cardiac Life Support, and other capabilities. The Organization also provides medical staffing to hospitals and clinics in Somalia, and in support of evacuation flights throughout…

$25,715 expenses · 0.1% of program spending

Humanitarian Assistance (and Protection of Civilians, in Extremis): The Organization assists governments' efforts to aid citizens whose efforts to deliver aid to vulnerable populations has been interrupted by mortal dangers of landmines, improvised explosives and hostile nonstate actors

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$50M$100M$150M$200M201920202021202220232024$21M$30M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$21M$30M92.3%$6.9M—
2023 ⓘ$61M$60M97.6%$17M—
2022 ⓘ$189M$180M99.0%$18M—
2021 ⓘ$21M$19M96.8%$10M$169,488
2020 ⓘ$17M$18M93.1%$1.4M$259,000
2019 ⓘ$25M$27M93.8%$2.6M$104,376

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 63

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
NOMAD AVIATION
Air transport services
$7,980,757
BANCROFT GLOBAL MANAGEMENT
Mgmt & personnel services
$2,751,905
AFRICAN SKIES LIMITED
Security & operational support
$264,820
TRANQUILITY CYBERSECURITY INTERNATIONAL
Law enforcement consulting
$144,463
Motorola Solutions UK Limited
Telecommunications Services
$123,237

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 34 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Bancroft Global Development's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Bancroft Global Development, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All international, foreign affairs & national security charities · Largest charities in District of Columbia

Questions people ask

How much of Bancroft Global Development's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Bancroft Global Development reported that 92.3% of its $29.7 million in expenses went to program services, 7.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Bancroft Global Development get its money?

Of $21.3 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 89.0% came from contributions and grants (including 79.9% from government grants) and 10.2% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Bancroft Global Development a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 54-1955545 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202503249349300205 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443209349319694 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202343539349300209 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202303049349300630 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202123199349316127 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202003179349305755 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 54-1955545: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.