Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Old Dominion University Educational Foundation

Norfolk, VA · EIN 54-6052014 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Old Dominion University Educational Foundation reported $45.6 million in revenue and $22.7 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $85.65 went to program services, $11.07 to management and general costs and $3.28 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 63.2% of the total. Revenue rose 57% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $23M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $46M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
85.6%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
11.1%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
3.3%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.03$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
63.2%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
176.913.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
24 of 24100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$19M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $19M · revenue $870K

To administer and distribute funds and property exclusively to support the mission, objectives and programs of Old Dominion University. The foundation provides supplemental funds to help defray operating costs of academic departments and special projects. The supplemental funds are used to provide student and faculty scholarships/awards, eminent scholar professorships, faculty salaries and faculty research. The foundation also provides funding for university development, capital projects and substantial support of operations of the library and its collections

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$20M$40M$60M$80M201920202021202220232024$46M$23M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$46M$23M85.6%$334M—
2023 ⓘ$34M$18M80.9%$300M—
2022 ⓘ$29M$19M84.9%$268M—
2021 ⓘ$34M$16M81.8%$305M—
2020 ⓘ$41M$14M81.9%$254M—
2019 ⓘ$29M$14M82.3%$235M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b24 · 24 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 631

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
ROBERT HALF
Temporary accounting staff
$110,642
THE CURTIS GROUP
Fndrsng. Csltg. Svc.
$110,065

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 2 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

10 private foundations reported grants to Old Dominion University Educational Foundation totaling $176K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Old Dominion University Educational Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Old Dominion University Educational Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Virginia

Questions people ask

How much of Old Dominion University Educational Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Old Dominion University Educational Foundation reported that 85.6% of its $22.7 million in expenses went to program services, 11.1% to management and general and 3.3% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Old Dominion University Educational Foundation get its money?

Of $45.6 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 63.2% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Old Dominion University Educational Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 54-6052014 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523219349318457 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202412299349300521 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202332649349301108 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202233069349301423 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202111879349300916 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202031769349300818 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 54-6052014: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.