Charity Impact Media

Home › Human services

Community Action Opportunities

Asheville, NC · EIN 56-0817672 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Community Action Opportunities reported $14.1 million in revenue and $12.7 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $88.68 went to program services, $11.32 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 84.9% of the total. Government grants made up 76.2%. Revenue rose 44% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $13M

For context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 3,614 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
88.7%87.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
11.3%11.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
84.9%20.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
76.2%2.4%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
14.5%70.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$274,992
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.18%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
3.46.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
13 of 13100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$8.0M expenses · 71.5% of program spending · revenue $2.0M

Children, family and community partnershipschildren, family and community partnerships (cfcp) utilizes grants and programs such as head start, nc pre-k , and children and adult care food program to provide a comprehensive child and family development program for families with limited incomes who have children ages three to five years old. Focused on the physical, educational, social and emotional growth of children, these programs help parents to assess and meet their family's short-and long-term needs. Experienced classroom teachers plan, assess and record each child's progress and share…

$3.2M expenses · 28.5% of program spending

Economic developmentthe economic development department of Community Action Opportunities provides services for adults who have a limited income and are ready to make the hard changes necessary to improve their lives and operates programs for making homes safe, healthy and more energy efficient. Community services block grant - life works provides guidance to individuals with limited income who are ready to make the hard changes necessary to improve their lives with the support and resources offered by the program's life coaches, customers reach specific goals within one to three years.…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$14M$13M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$14M$13M88.7%$3.6M—
FY2024 ⓘ$14M$13M88.2%$3.6M$219,879
FY2023 ⓘ$13M$12M88.8%$2.4M$207,673
FY2022 ⓘ$11M$11M90.3%$1.2M$203,593
FY2021 ⓘ$11M$11M91.2%$712K$197,147
FY2020 ⓘ$9.8M$9.5M90.4%$1.2M$193,871

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b13 · 13 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5152
  • Volunteers Part I, line 614

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
CAROLINA AIR EXPERTS
Hvac subcontractor for wap
$264,176
HORIZON HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING LLC
Hvac subcontractor for wap
$241,409
RUTHERFORD HEATING AND AIR LLC
Hvac subcontractor for wap
$199,189
BUNCOMBE COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT
Educational services/meals
$135,133

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 4 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Community Action Opportunities totaling $963K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Community Action Opportunities's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Community Action Opportunities, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All human services charities · Largest charities in North Carolina

Questions people ask

How much of Community Action Opportunities's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Community Action Opportunities reported that 88.7% of its $12.7 million in expenses went to program services, 11.3% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Community Action Opportunities get its money?

Of $14.1 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 84.9% came from contributions and grants (including 76.2% from government grants) and 14.5% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Community Action Opportunities a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 56-0817672 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202601359349307685 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202542769349301244 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202441159349301129 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202301099349300130 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202210639349301501 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141199349300324 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 56-0817672: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.