University of North Carolina at Chapel H Arts & Sciences Foundation
University of North Carolina at Chapel H Arts & Sciences Foundation reported $28.1 million in revenue and $29.2 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $96.14 went to program services, $1.03 to management and general costs and $2.83 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 96.9% of the total. Revenue rose 12% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $29MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $28MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 96.1% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 1.0% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 2.8% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.03 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 96.9% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 259.0 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 31 of 36 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseThe arts and sciences foundation, inc. Provides grants to the college of arts and sciences at the University of North Carolina at chapel hill for faculty and students that include, but are not limited to, merit- and need-based scholarships, fellowships, study abroad awards for students, and professorships and faculty excellence funds
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b36 · 31 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 631
Private foundation grants it received
12 private foundations reported grants to University of North Carolina at Chapel H Arts & Sciences Foundation totaling $1.6M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from University of North Carolina at Chapel H Arts & Sciences Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for University of North Carolina at Chapel H Arts & Sciences Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 University of North Carolina at Chapel H Arts & Sciences Foundation spent in FY2025, $96.14 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Natl Assn of Secondary School PrincipalsReston, VA · revenue $28M · programs 57.4% · 2024
- Collaborative for Regional Educational Services and TrainingAndover, MA · revenue $28M · programs 92.2% · FY2025
- Kings Way Christian SchoolsVancouver, WA · revenue $28M · programs 80.4% · FY2025
- Leadership Public SchoolsOakland, CA · revenue $28M · programs 85.0% · FY2025
- Utah Valley University FoundationOrem, UT · revenue $28M · programs 83.8% · FY2025
All education charities · Largest charities in North Carolina
Questions people ask
How much of University of North Carolina at Chapel H Arts & Sciences Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, University of North Carolina at Chapel H Arts & Sciences Foundation reported that 96.1% of its $29.2 million in expenses went to program services, 1.0% to management and general and 2.8% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does University of North Carolina at Chapel H Arts & Sciences Foundation get its money?
Of $28.1 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 96.9% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is University of North Carolina at Chapel H Arts & Sciences Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 56-1150509 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202610569349300906 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202500579349301500 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202400719349301215 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202330199349300803 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202200679349301100 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202110369349300711 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 56-1150509: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.