Home › Public safety, disaster preparedness & relief
Lowes Employee Relief Fund
Lowes Employee Relief Fund reported $13.8 million in revenue and $11.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $99.26 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.74 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.2% of the total. Revenue rose 211% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12MFor context, the median across 67 covered public safety, disaster preparedness & relief charities: $93.17 programs, $6.67 management, $0.16 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14MOther revenue was negative: −$356K. The bar shows the positive sources only.
The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 99.3% | 90.5% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 6.5% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.7% | 0.2% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.01 | $0.01 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 100.2% | 87.0% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 2.8% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $349,968 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.26% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 10.3 | 8.1 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 6 of 6 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseDuring the year ending September 30 2025 the organization helped 9,588 individuals overcome sudden unforeseen financial hardships. These unforeseen hardships include events such as medical bills funeral costs safety expenses homelessness and expenses incurred due to encountering natural disasters such as floods tornados and earthquakes
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Lowes Employee Relief Fund's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Lowes Employee Relief Fund, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Lowes Employee Relief Fund spent in FY2025, $99.26 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- TexsarWimberley, TX · revenue $13M · programs 76.2% · 2025
- National Emergency AssistanceKnoxville, TN · revenue $14M · programs 90.5% · FY2025
- Israaid US Global Humanitarian AssistanceBeverly Hills, CA · revenue $13M · programs 94.8% · 2024
- World Bicycle Relief NfpChicago, IL · revenue $15M · programs 63.8% · 2025
- Berwyn Fire CompanyBerwyn, PA · revenue $12M · programs 98.1% · 2025
All public safety, disaster preparedness & relief charities · Largest charities in North Carolina
Questions people ask
How much of Lowes Employee Relief Fund's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, Lowes Employee Relief Fund reported that 99.3% of its $11.5 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.7% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Lowes Employee Relief Fund get its money?
Of $13.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, 100.2% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Lowes Employee Relief Fund a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 56-2160955 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, object 202642309349301669 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202532699349300203 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, object 202402289349300235 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022, object 202342279349303934 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, object 202242279349304574 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2020, object 202122289349303227 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 56-2160955: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.