Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

Appalachian Real Estate Development Corporation

Boone, NC · EIN 56-2161660 · 501(c)(3) · Organization operated for a governmental college or university
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Appalachian Real Estate Development Corporation reported $17.3 million in revenue and $7.3 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $97.17 went to program services, $2.83 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 86.2% of the total. Revenue rose 284% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $7.3M

For context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $17M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 933 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
97.2%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
2.8%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%17.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
86.2%66.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$300,863
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.57%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
05
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
79.110.0
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
9 of 9100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7.1M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $16M

To exercise any and all rights of ownership with respect to real property and personal property in connection therewith for the benefit of the university, including to acquire, own, develop, lease, finance, manage, operate, sell, and transfer property. To do any and all other acts and things that are consistent with the purposes above and that may be deemed desirable or expedient for the benefit of the university, its programs, and its faculty, staff and students

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$17M$7.3M97.2%$48M—
FY2024 ⓘ$9.6M$7.2M97.4%$24M—
FY2023 ⓘ$8.8M$10M98.6%$22M—
FY2022 ⓘ$6.5M$5.8M97.5%$24M—
FY2021 ⓘ$5.5M$4.5M96.9%$23M—
FY2020 ⓘ$4.5M$9.5M98.6%$22M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b9 · 9 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 522

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Appalachian Real Estate Development Corporation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Appalachian Real Estate Development Corporation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Appalachian Real Estate Development Corporation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Appalachian Real Estate Development Corporation reported that 97.2% of its $7.3 million in expenses went to program services, 2.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Appalachian Real Estate Development Corporation get its money?

Of $17.3 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 86.2% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Appalachian Real Estate Development Corporation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 56-2161660 as a 501(c)(3) organization (organization operated for a governmental college or university), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202630559349300428 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202540299349300214 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202303499349300905 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202203199349301850 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202133269349300933 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202131119349301413 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 56-2161660: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.