Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

Walton Family Charitable Support Foundation

Bentonville, AR · EIN 58-1766770 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization (509(a)(3))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Walton Family Charitable Support Foundation reported $95.7 million in revenue and $27.7 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $87.89 went to program services, $12.11 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 99.4% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $494,944 (DIRECTOR). Revenue rose 144% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $28M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $96M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
87.9%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
12.1%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
$494,944$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
1.79%1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported3
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
506.756.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$24M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $24M

Grants for supported organizations described in schedule a, part I, line g

Highest reported compensation

2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here
RoleFrom this orgFrom related orgsOtherTotal
DIRECTOR
Director/trustee, 1.0 hrs/week
$2,000$427,157$65,787$494,944
DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT
Director/trustee, officer, 1.0 hrs/week
$2,000$324,883$58,354$385,237
DIRECTOR, VICE PRESIDENT
Director/trustee, officer, 1.0 hrs/week
$2,000$298,417$33,387$333,804
DIRECTOR, TREASURER
Director/trustee, officer, 1.0 hrs/week
$2,000$0$0$2,000

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$96M$28M87.9%$1.17B$494,944
2024 ⓘ$65M$62M95.1%$1.10B$477,798
2023 ⓘ$59M$92M97.1%$1.10B$355,285
2022 ⓘ$27M$43M94.2%$1.13B$389,482
2021 ⓘ$82M$69M96.6%$1.14B$346,007
2020 ⓘ$650M$46M97.6%$1.13B$300,238
2019 ⓘ$39M$15M95.3%$650M$2,000

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 63

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Walton Family Charitable Support Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Walton Family Charitable Support Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Walton Family Charitable Support Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, Walton Family Charitable Support Foundation reported that 87.9% of its $27.7 million in expenses went to program services, 12.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

How much does Walton Family Charitable Support Foundation pay its top executive?

The largest total compensation Walton Family Charitable Support Foundation reported for one person in calendar year 2025 was $494,944, for the role of DIRECTOR (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).

Where does Walton Family Charitable Support Foundation get its money?

Of $95.7 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Walton Family Charitable Support Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 58-1766770 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization (509(a)(3))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202602589349302450 · read the filing
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202502249349301730 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202413139349302461 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202342899349302984 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202233049349302288 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202133159349308498 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202032239349301303 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 58-1766770: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.