Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking
The Savannah Community Foundation
The Savannah Community Foundation reported $18.7 million in revenue and $6.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $88.46 went to program services, $11.54 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 73.6% of the total. Revenue rose 365% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $6.9MFor context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $19MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 88.5% | 90.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 11.5% | 6.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 1.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 73.6% | 79.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $325,675 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.56% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 179.4 | 56.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 17 of 17 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b17 · 17 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| SIMPSON LAW PC Mgmt contract | $210,900 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
5 private foundations reported grants to The Savannah Community Foundation totaling $1.3M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from The Savannah Community Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Savannah Community Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 The Savannah Community Foundation spent in FY2025, $88.46 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- JEWISHColoradoDenver, CO · revenue $19M · programs 87.4% · FY2025
- Wayne County Community FoundationWooster, OH · revenue $19M · programs 94.7% · FY2025
- Hollingsworth FundsGreenville, SC · revenue $19M · programs 73.7% · 2024
- Bokf FoundationTulsa, OK · revenue $19M · programs 100.0% · 2024
- Berrien Community FoundationSt Joseph, MI · revenue $19M · programs 91.4% · 2025
All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Georgia
Questions people ask
How much of The Savannah Community Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, The Savannah Community Foundation reported that 88.5% of its $6.9 million in expenses went to program services, 11.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does The Savannah Community Foundation get its money?
Of $18.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 73.6% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is The Savannah Community Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 58-6033468 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202503119349303185 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202433139349301918 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202343189349303729 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202213199349310141 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202123159349301707 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202043189349304774 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 58-6033468: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.