Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

Opa-Locka Community Development Corporation

Also known as Ten North Group

Opa Locka, FL · EIN 59-2106635 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Opa-Locka Community Development Corporation reported $11.9 million in revenue and $21.3 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $90.26 went to program services, $9.74 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 19.0% of the total. Revenue rose 51% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $21M

For context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 933 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
90.3%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
9.7%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
19.0%17.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.5%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
8.1%66.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$300,863
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.57%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
05
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
39.910.0
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
24 of 24100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$15M expenses · 76.9% of program spending

Rehabilited homes for the very low and moderate low income families. Developed multi-family rental units for very low and moderate income families. Developed economic projects which provided leasing of commercial space and attracted job opportunities

$2.2M expenses · 11.6% of program spending

Education, Family and Health department provides a strategic response to providing education to children and families in the community. This department addressed health inequalities experienced by Opa Locka residents. The department also provides health fairs and access to exercise equipment for the underserved community

$1.1M expenses · 5.8% of program spending

Arts and Creative industry department is committed to providing unique arts-based social and economic opportunites for current and future residents as well as visitors and stakeholders of Opa Locka. These initiatives are meant to make quality art of all forms easily accessible and engrained into every day life of residents in Opa Locka

$1.1M all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$20M$40M$60M$80M201920202021202220232024$12M$21M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$12M$21M90.3%$71M—
2023 ⓘ$12M$19M85.9%$52M$527,649
2022 (amended) ⓘ$41M$18M87.3%$61M$541,832
2021 ⓘ$20M$12M75.6%$37M—
2020 ⓘ$10M$9.7M85.4%$29M$194,846
2019 ⓘ$7.9M$5.2M66.9%$9.5M$194,846

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b24 · 24 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 526

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Opa-Locka Community Development Corporation totaling $11 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Opa-Locka Community Development Corporation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Opa-Locka Community Development Corporation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All housing & shelter charities · Largest charities in Florida

Questions people ask

How much of Opa-Locka Community Development Corporation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Opa-Locka Community Development Corporation reported that 90.3% of its $21.3 million in expenses went to program services, 9.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Opa-Locka Community Development Corporation get its money?

Of $11.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 19.0% came from contributions and grants (including 0.5% from government grants) and 8.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Opa-Locka Community Development Corporation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 59-2106635 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202532169349301538 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202432859349300603 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022 (amended), object 202441249349301749 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202212229349302031 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202142819349301304 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202003179349301540 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 59-2106635: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.