Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

The Athenian Academy

Clearwater, FL · EIN 59-3571143 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The Athenian Academy reported $10.4 million in revenue and $9.7 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $91.27 went to program services, $8.73 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 70.9% of the total. Government grants made up 13.5%. Revenue rose 106% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $9.7M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $10M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
91.3%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
8.7%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
13.5%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
13.5%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
70.9%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-0.213.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$8.9M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $10M

Public charter schools that serves grades k-5. The students receive an excellence in education in a small-school caring and nurturing environment

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$10M$9.7M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$10M$9.7M91.3%−$180K—
FY2024 ⓘ$8.3M$8.8M92.2%−$890K—
FY2023 ⓘ$8.7M$8.8M90.8%−$131K—
FY2022 ⓘ$7.4M$8.2M95.6%−$386K—
FY2021 ⓘ$6.3M$6.0M89.1%$246K—
FY2020 (amended) ⓘ$5.0M$5.2M89.5%−$66,838—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 595
  • Volunteers Part I, line 6108

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
Choice Charter School Services
Consulting
$465,447

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The Athenian Academy's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Athenian Academy, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Florida

Questions people ask

How much of The Athenian Academy's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, The Athenian Academy reported that 91.3% of its $9.7 million in expenses went to program services, 8.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The Athenian Academy get its money?

Of $10.4 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 13.5% came from contributions and grants (including 13.5% from government grants) and 70.9% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The Athenian Academy a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 59-3571143 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202600139349300125 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202521189349300032 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421009349300342 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202340339349300959 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202231189349300108 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020 (amended), object 202100719349300010 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 59-3571143: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.