Charity Impact Media

Home › Unclassified

Loretto Literary and Benevolent Institution

Also known as Loretto Motherhouse Infirmary

Nerinx, KY · EIN 61-0492368 · 501(c)(3) · Church
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2022 (tax year 2022) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Loretto Literary and Benevolent Institution reported $10.2 million in revenue and $10.3 million in expenses for calendar year 2022. Of every $100 it spent, $90.74 went to program services, $9.26 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 54.5% of the total. Revenue rose 16% between 2019 and 2022. Source: Form 990, 2022.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2022 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $10M

For context, the median across 2,433 covered unclassified charities: $88.27 programs, $11.68 management, $0.05 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2022 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $10M

Investment income was negative: −$174K. The bar shows the positive sources only.

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2022 filing. Median across 2,433 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2022Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
90.7%86.7%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
9.3%11.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
54.5%29.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%3.8%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
47.3%58.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$301,601
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.38%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported6
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
2.46.8
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
6 of 6100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2022 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$9.4M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $4.6M

To provide care to the 49 residents at the loretto motherhouse infirmary and to the 33 retired catholic personnel

4 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M2019202020212022$10M$10M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2022 ⓘ$10M$10M90.7%$2.1M—
2021 ⓘ$11M$9.9M90.2%$2.9M—
2020 ⓘ$8.1M$9.4M90.5%$1.9M—
2019 ⓘ$8.8M$9.0M89.8%$3.2M—

Governance answers, as filed

2022 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5219

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Loretto Literary and Benevolent Institution totaling $12,000 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Loretto Literary and Benevolent Institution's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Loretto Literary and Benevolent Institution, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All unclassified charities · Largest charities in Kentucky

Questions people ask

How much of Loretto Literary and Benevolent Institution's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2022, Loretto Literary and Benevolent Institution reported that 90.7% of its $10.3 million in expenses went to program services, 9.3% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Loretto Literary and Benevolent Institution get its money?

Of $10.2 million in revenue in calendar year 2022, 54.5% came from contributions and grants and 47.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Loretto Literary and Benevolent Institution a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 61-0492368 as a 501(c)(3) organization (church), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202323189349304612 · read the filing · XML
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202202949349300010 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202113159349301341 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202003099349300225 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 61-0492368: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.