Charity Impact Media

Home › Human services

Lake Cumberland Community Action Agency

Jamestown, KY · EIN 61-0855431 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Lake Cumberland Community Action Agency reported $18.0 million in revenue and $18.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $91.41 went to program services, $8.56 to management and general costs and $0.03 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.5% of the total. Government grants made up 89.8%. Revenue rose 32% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $19M

For context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $18M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 3,614 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
91.4%87.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
8.6%11.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
99.5%20.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
89.8%2.4%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%70.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$274,992
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.18%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
5.36.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
30 of 30100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7.7M expenses · 45.8% of program spending

Headstart - for low income families utilizing a positive team effort to enhance the lives of at-risk preschool age chrildren and their families by supporting and enriching the child's development, physical, social, emotional, and intellectual growth

$5.6M expenses · 32.8% of program spending

Low income heat energy assistance program provides assistance with home energy costs to eligible participants

$1.0M expenses · 6.1% of program spending

Community service block grant (csbg) - assists low income and elderly households by providing a range of services and activities that have a measureable impact on the causes of poverty in the community

$2.6M all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$18M$19M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$18M$19M91.4%$8.1M—
FY2024 ⓘ$19M$19M91.6%$8.6M—
FY2023 ⓘ$17M$17M91.6%$8.6M—
FY2022 ⓘ$24M$23M95.1%$8.3M—
FY2021 ⓘ$19M$19M94.5%$6.8M—
FY2020 (amended) ⓘ$14M$14M92.7%$6.5M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b30 · 30 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5241

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Lake Cumberland Community Action Agency's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Lake Cumberland Community Action Agency, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All human services charities · Largest charities in Kentucky

Questions people ask

How much of Lake Cumberland Community Action Agency's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Lake Cumberland Community Action Agency reported that 91.4% of its $18.5 million in expenses went to program services, 8.6% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Lake Cumberland Community Action Agency get its money?

Of $18.0 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 99.5% came from contributions and grants (including 89.8% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Lake Cumberland Community Action Agency a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 61-0855431 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202523389349300847 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202413199349302661 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202313469349300506 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202212989349300311 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202123419349300722 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020 (amended), object 202112949349301331 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 61-0855431: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.