Home › Community improvement & capacity building
Community Action Kentucky
Community Action Kentucky reported $70.5 million in revenue and $70.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $98.24 went to program services, $1.76 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 98.9% of the total. Government grants made up 98.9%. Revenue rose 32% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $71MFor context, the median across 479 covered community improvement & capacity building charities: $90.45 programs, $9.31 management, $0.24 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $70MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 98.2% | 89.1% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 1.8% | 9.2% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.2% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 98.9% | 80.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 98.9% | 14.9% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.6% | 11.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $291,103 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.49% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 5 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 0.3 | 9.2 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 23 of 23 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseLow income heat energy assistance program provides assistance with home energy costs to eligible participants
Kynect assists individuals in the application process for health insurance coverage on the kentucky exchange
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b23 · 23 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 57
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| DIGITAL MOBILE INNOVATINS LLC Software creation | $226,785 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Community Action Kentucky's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Community Action Kentucky, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Community Action Kentucky spent in FY2025, $98.24 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Rural Economic Development CenterRaleigh, NC · revenue $70M · programs 77.4% · FY2025
- Marshall University Research CorporationHuntington, WV · revenue $71M · programs 83.9% · FY2025
- AvanceSan Antonio, TX · revenue $66M · programs 89.1% · FY2025
- ServeminnesotaMinneapolis, MN · revenue $71M · programs 97.1% · FY2025
- Society of Manufacturing EngineersSouthfield, MI · revenue $66M · programs 71.6% · 2024
All community improvement & capacity building charities · Largest charities in Kentucky
Questions people ask
How much of Community Action Kentucky's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Community Action Kentucky reported that 98.2% of its $70.9 million in expenses went to program services, 1.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Community Action Kentucky get its money?
Of $70.5 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 98.9% came from contributions and grants (including 98.9% from government grants) and 0.6% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Community Action Kentucky a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 61-0865554 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202620939349300722 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202531199349302263 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202441359349309044 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321239349302477 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202240829349301109 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202033289349300228 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 61-0865554: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.